Food Waste Friday – A mushy cucumber…and a grape save

This week I had to chuck an English Cucumber. It still looked great, but when I grabbed it…well, my fingers went right through it. Yuck. I don’t have a picture of it.

I do have a picture of the chicken salad I made to save the last of some red grapes. It’s our go to chicken salad, and it fit well with the warmer weather we had this past week. The sour cream gives it an extra little flavor zing.


It’s simple to make.

1. Bake chicken breasts how you normally would. I brush them with olive oil and then put salt and pepper on them. Let them cool off.
2. Chop them up to the consistency you like your chicken salad chicken chunks to be.
3. Add equal parts of mayonnaise and sour cream — the specific amounts will depend on how moist you like chicken salad.
4. Cut red grapes in half…an amount you like for taste. More grapes equals a sweeter taste. I use about 1 cup of grapes.
5. Add some finally diced red onion…an amount you like for taste. I like about 1/4 c.
6. Cover and refrigerate for a couple hours and then add more salt and pepper if you think it needs it.

This is great by itself, on top of lettuce leaves, or as a sandwich.

I know the instructions aren’t specific, but everyone I know has specific likes and dislikes about the consistency of chicken salad. Experiment until you figure out your favorite version.

One thought on “Food Waste Friday – A mushy cucumber…and a grape save

Leave a Reply

