Food Waste Friday – I salvaged a grapefruit

This week I’m very happy to say that we did not have any food waste. The only thing that I contemplated tossing was a grapefruit. Ahhhh, the grapefruit….the grapefruit that my 9 year old insisted on us buying because she LOVES LOVES LOVES grapefruits. In actuality she does not even like grapefruits…but deep down I think she wants to. I understand, I feel the same way about olives.

This grapefruit has been in our refrigerator for almost 3 weeks and was definitely losing its visual appeal. I would normally just ask our neighbor if they’d like to have it, but there were some spots on it that I thought they might think I was giving them a rotten grapefruit.

I knew it wasn’t bad but I also knew that no one else was going to eat it except for me. However, I only really want to eat grapefruits on hot summer days. I don’t know why, that’s just when I like them.

I scanned my Living on a Dime cook book, Not Just Beans, and saw a recipe for Broiled Grapefruit. It’s quite a handy cookbook for very frugal recipes.

Before broiling –

After broiling –

I wasn’t able to find the recipe online and I don’t want to infringe copyright stuff.

But here are a couple yummy looking broiled grapefruit recipes, all of which make this a very fall friendly recipe.

Boiled Grapefruit Crisp
Brown Sugar Broiled Grapefruit
Broiled Grapefruit with Cinnamon Sugar

Living on a Dime is an excellent source of very frugal living advice and has a lot of frugal recipes on it. It’s worth taking the time to peruse if you enjoy those kinds of things.

2 thoughts on “Food Waste Friday – I salvaged a grapefruit

    • I liked it. If you aren’t a fan of grapefruit I wouldn’t eat it, but the brown sugar and cinnamon made it pretty “fallish” if you will. Next time I think I’ll make the grapefruit crisp if I do this.

Leave a Reply

